My favourites.. In books..!

Hello everybody! 🙂 This post is to list out all my favourites in the literature section.. Read on and get to know my book tastes :p My FAVOURITE author is Jeffrey Archer. I’ve read almost all of his books and follow him like a crazy stalker.. Seriously..! If he ever met me(hopefully he does!) he would come to the direct conclusion that I’m affected with the Archer syndrome! I love his style of writing and frankly, the way I try to write articles and short plays is somewhat like his style -cryptic, yet deceivingly simple (haven’t made much headway imitating his style..! But still..)…  Don’t even get me started on the characters.. Be it Kane of ‘Kane and Abel’or Nat and Fletcher of ‘Sons of Fortune’or Harry Clifton from the Clifton Chronicles, they all have etched a special place in my heart.. When I’m reading an Archer book, it almost seems as if I’m living with the character.. They are so relatable to me and a lot of people I know.. Be it good or bad.. I also like his cliffhangers, but I am really annoyed when he kills  a character I like.. I almost had tears in my eyes when Luke from ‘Sons of Fortune’ and Jessica from the Clifton Chronicles were killed .. ‘Paths Of Glory’ had me in tears in the end.. Knowing that George Mallory was so close to his goal and maybe he actually achieved it, but there was no proof of it just shook me to the core 😦 .. Prisoner of Birth was a book I enjoyed a lot as I loved the build up of suspense and the ingenious way people lived in the book.. I read ‘Kane and Abel’ when I was in 6th grade and I was hooked to it.. Archer’s abrupt endings always fascinate me. He truly takes the reader on a roller coaster of emotions, introducing them to amazing people and always ensuring that they remain curious and almost desperate to know what happens next! My favourite Archer book would be ‘Only Time Will Tell’ – the first book in the Clifton Chronicles. Paths of Glory and Kane and Abel would be the next two.. My all time favourite Archer characters are Harry Clifton and Emma Clifton. Archer’s chilling descriptions of war, court scenes, prisons, grief of separation and last-minute chances and misses always enthrall me. My other favourite authors include Shakespeare (who can’t love him?!), Arthur Hailey, Agatha Christie, Ruskin Bond, Mark Twain, Frederick Forsyth, PG Wodehouse and Robert Ludlum. I also love Ralph Waldo Emerson and Thoreau. I hate tragic stories which involve a lot of violence and mental torture and total dearth of basic human values. I like mystery, thrillers and crime books.  So… You know about my book tastes and preferences.. Hope you liked this peek into my reading habits and choices.. Agree with me, disagree with me..!? Let me know in the comments.. Cheers, Deek 🙂 😀

Leave a Reply

